The Golden Doves [Book Review] #HistoricalFiction @RandomHouse

The Golden Doves by Martha Hall Kelly is the harrowing and page-turning WWII story of survival, bravery, and justice.

The Golden Doves by Martha Hall Kelly

The Golden Doves by Martha Hall Kelly (cover) Image: two women dressed in coats and hats stand with their backs to each other with a view of the Eifel Tower in the distant background

Genre/Categories/Setting: Historical Fiction, WW11, Espionage, French Resistance Movement, France and Europe (as well as the U.S. and South America)

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

My Summary of The Golden Doves:

Thanks #NetGalley @RandomHouse Ballentine for a complimentary e ARC of #TheGoldenDoves upon my request. All opinions are my own.

During WWII, Josie and Arlette worked with the French Resistance and earned a reputation as the Golden Doves. Eventually, they were arrested and taken to Ravensbrück Concentration Camp. A decade later, their paths cross again as Josie hunts down a fugitive doctor and Arlette looks for her long-lost son. Danger abounds in their espionage work during the war years and in their current pursuit of justice.

My Thoughts:

Companion Reads

The Golden Doves caused me to think of two possible companion reads: Lilac Girls for its concentration camp content and The German Wife for its details about Operation Paper Clip.

Well-Researched and Written

In the writing of The Golden Doves, Martha Hall Kelly extends the reputation she’s earned for well-researched and well-written stories. Kelly is a compelling storyteller and her characters are complex and complicated.

A Side of Thriller

If you enjoy a side of mystery/thriller with your hisfic, you might enjoy The Golden Doves. A web of lies, dark secrets, and danger lurk around every corner.

Historical Interest

One of the reasons that histfic is my favorite genre is because of the historical details. Of interest in The Golden Doves is how the Nazis escaped after World War II. The methods include help from sympathetic citizens, the Vatican, and Operation Paperclip (U.S.).

Themes

Intense themes include survival, trust, endurance, good vs. evil, betrayal, brave women, and justice.

Recommending The Golden Doves

Fans of Lilac Girls and Martha Hall Kelly will appreciate The Golden Doves. Readers of WWII historical fiction might like this harrowing search for a Nazi doctor.

Related: Other books I’ve reviewed by Martha Hall Kelly include Lost Roses and Sunflower Sisters (my fav of hers).

My Rating:  4  Stars

twinkle-twinkle-little-startwinkle-twinkle-little-startwinkle-twinkle-little-startwinkle-twinkle-little-star

The Golden Gloves by Martha Hall Kelly (cover) Image: two women wearing coats and hats stand with their back to each other and a view of the Eifel Tower visible in the background between them

More Information Here

Meet the Author of The Golden Doves, Martha Hall Kelly

Author of The Golden Doves, Lost Roses, and Sunflower Sisters, Martha Hall Kelly

Martha’s debut novel LILAC GIRLS, about socialite Caroline Ferriday and her fight to help a group of concentration camp survivors, became an Instant NY Times bestseller in 2016 and went on to sell over two million copies. Once the paperback stayed on the NYT list for fifty-four weeks, and became published in fifty countries she wrote two more novels: LOST ROSES about Caroline’s mother, and SUNFLOWER SISTERS about her great grandmother, which also became Instant NY Times best sellers. Her latest novel, THE GOLDEN DOVES, which returns to WWII, arrives in bookstores April 18th, 2023.

Martha grew up in Massachusetts and now splits her time between Connecticut and New York City.

You’ll find more info about the incredible, true stories behind all of her books at her website: http://www.marthahallkelly.com, on Instagram: @marthahallkelly, Facebook.com/marthahallkelly, Twitter: @marthahallkelly and on her ever-changing Pinterest page.



QOTD:

Is Martha Hall Kelly’s new release on your TBR or have you read it?



Happy Reading Book Buddies!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“I read because books are a form of transportation, of teaching, and of connection! Books take us to places we’ve never been, they teach us about our world, and they help us to understand human experience.”
~Madeleine Riley, Top Shelf Text



Let’s Get Social!

Thank you for visiting and reading today! I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along (see subscribe or follow option), promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.

Find me at:
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Pinterest



***Blog posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price.

I purchase or borrow from the library all books I review unless explicitly stated that the book is free (arc)

Amazon or an author’s (or publisher’s) website receives all credit for book covers and author photos.

© ReadingLadies.com

7 comments

  1. Wonderful review, Carol. I am looking forward to this story. I do enjoy Meissner’s writing and agree, I love to learn something new, but more important, we can never forget the tragedies from the past.

Leave a Reply