If You Like That, Read This [Volume 2] #TopTenTuesday

November 16, 2021

If You Like That, Read This! (Image: white and blue text over a background image of a tall stack of hardback books on a blue painted table)

Image Source: Canva

***Titles are Amazon affiliate links or links to my reviews

top ten tuesday

I’m linking up today with That Artsy Reader Girl for Top Ten Tuesday: “If You Loved That/Read This.”

See Volume one here.

If You Like That, Read This!

10 Sets of Compatible Reads

Do you love when books talk to each other? Here are a few pairings that work well together.

Dolly Parton, Songteller: My Life in Lyrics by Dolly Parton
and Never Broken: Songs Are Only Half the Story by Jewel
(both celebrity, music memoirs (recommend audio) with interesting similarities and differences)


The Only Plane in the Sky: An Oral History of 9/11 by Garrett M. Graff
and The Day the World Came to Town by Jim DeFede
(both nonfiction rememberences of 9/11)


Little Women by Louisa May Alcot
and More to the Story by Hena Khan
and The Other Alcott by Elise Hooper
(More to the Story is a diverse middle grade retelling of Little Women and The Other Alcott is a fictionalized biography of real life May Alcott….Amy in Little Women)


The Rose Code by Kate Quinn
and Radar Girls by Sara Ackerman
(both share stories of women who worked in the field of technology during WW11)


The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson
and The Last Blue by Isla Morley
(both about the “blue people” of Kentucky)


A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
and The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg
(both quirky, endearing, unforgettable characters)


Code Name Helene by Ariel Lawhon
and The Invisible Woman by Erika Robuck
(both real women who were spies working with the Resistance Movement in WW11)


Born a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood by Trevor Noah
and The Girl With the Louding Voice by Abi Dare
(one nonfiction and one fiction, both share stories of difficult childhoods in Africa)


The Unlikely Adventures of the Shergill Sisters by Balli Kaur Jaswal
Three Words For Goodbye by Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb
and Our Italian Summer by Jennifer Probst
(sisters and/or mother/daughters travel together)


Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai (second review on page)
and Other Words For Home by Jasmine Warga
(both middle grade stories of refugee children seeking refuge and adjusting to life in the United States)



QOTD!

I love to make connections between my reads! How about you?
What other pairs can you suggest?

ICYMI: Here is Volume One of “If You Like That, Read This.”



Happy Reading Book Buddies!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“I read because books are a form of transportation, of teaching, and of connection! Books take us to places we’ve never been, they teach us about our world, and they help us to understand human experience.”
~Madeleine Riley, Top Shelf Text



Let’s Get Social!

Thank you for visiting and reading today! I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along (see subscribe or follow option), promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.

Find me at:
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Pinterest



***Blog posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price.

Unless explicitly stated that they are free, all books that I review have been purchased by me or borrowed from the library.

Book Cover and author photo are credited to Amazon or an author’s (or publisher’s) website.

© http://www.ReadingLadies.com

24 thoughts on “If You Like That, Read This [Volume 2] #TopTenTuesday

    • It’s so fun to find compatible reads! I especially liked tgat a jewel and Folly both sing in the audio versions of their memoirs! It was interesting to think about their differences and similarities. Thanks for commenting! I’ll hop over and read your post!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.