If You Like That, Read This

July 30, 2019

***Titles are Amazon affiliate links or links to my reviews

top ten tuesday

I’m linking up today with That Artsy Reader Girl for Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday “Freebie,” I’m listing ten sets of compatible reads.

 

If You Like That, Read This!

10 Sets of Compatible Reads

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
and The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy
both Contemporary Fiction by Rachel Joyce
(character-driven companion reads)


My Dear Hamilton (Historical Fiction) by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie
and Alexander Hamilton (NF) by Ron Chernow
(for fans of U.S. History and the Founding)


Where the Crawdads Sing (Fiction) by Delia Owens
and The Scent Keeper (Fiction) by Erica Bauermeister
(especially for readers who are interested in unique coming of age stories)


The Romanov Bride (HistFic) by Robert Alexander
and I Was Anastasia (HistFic) by Ariel Lawhon
(for fans of Russian History)


For One More Day by Mitch Albom
and The Deal of a Lifetime by Fredrik Backman
(for fans of reflective, meaning of life stories)


Paper Hearts (WW11 YA HistFic) by Meg Wiviott
and The Librarian of Auschwitz (WW11 YA HistFic) by Antonio Iturbe
(for readers who appreciate inspiring, unforgettable characters)


A Man Called Ove (movie) and Britt-Marie Was Here
both by Fredrik Backman
and The Cactus by Sarah Haywood
(for fans of poignant, character-driven contemporary fiction)


The Glass Castle (NF Memoir) by Jeanette Walls (movie)
and Educated (NF Memoir) by Tara Westover
and The Great Alone (Fiction) by Kristin Hannah
(for readers who want gritty, beating-the-odds stories)


The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane (HistFic) by Lisa See
and The Secret Daughter (Fiction) by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
and Far From the Tree (YA Fiction) by Robin Benway
(for fans of adoption themes)


A Grief Observed (NF Memoir) by C. S. Lewis
and Becoming Mrs. Lewis (HistFic) by Patti Callahan
(and then watch the movie, Shadowlands)



QOTD!

I love to make connections between my reads! How about you?
What other pairs can you suggest?



Posts You Might Have Missed:

2 Year Blogiversary & Giveaway!

Summer’s ONE “Must-Read” Book

Summer 2019 TBR

Book Club Recommendations

My Best Reads of the Year So Far 



Happy Reading Book Buddies!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“I read because books are a form of transportation, of teaching, and of connection! Books take us to places we’ve never been, they teach us about our world, and they help us to understand human experience.”
~Madeleine Riley, Top Shelf Text



Sharing is Caring

Thank you for visiting and reading today! I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along (see subscribe or follow option), promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.

Find me at:
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Pinterest



***Blogs posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price.

Unless explicitly stated that they are free, all books that I review have been purchased by me or borrowed from the library.

Book Cover and author photo are credited to Amazon or an author’s (or publisher’s) website.

Advertisements

19 thoughts on “If You Like That, Read This

    • No Britt Marie is not a sequel to Ove….. but she is a character from My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry (so a spin off). Thanks for commenting and leaving your link! 👍😍

      Like

  1. Pingback: Links I’ve Enjoyed This Week – 04/08/19 – Secret Library Book Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.