Mrs. England [Book Review]

April 12, 2022

Mrs. England by Stacey Halls

Mrs England by Stacey Halls (cover) Image: a young woman in a long white dress peeks around an open door

Genre/Categories: Historical Fiction, Women’s Fiction, Family Drama, Mystery/Thriller/Suspense

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

My Summary:

Welcome to my stop on the #HTPBooks Harlequin Trade Press Publishing’s 2022 Blog Tour for historical fiction. Thanks #HTPBooks #Netgalley for a complimentary eARC of #MrsEngland upon my request. All opinions are my own.

Mrs England Blog Tour Banner

In 1904, Ruby May is looking for a fresh start and accepts a position in Yorkshire as a children’s nurse for the Englands, a wealthy couple who live in the isolated Hardcastle House. Although she builds a connection with the three children, something doesn’t seem quite right with the servants or between Mr. and Mrs. England.

My Thoughts:

Genre: Atmospheric, forboding, and tense, Mrs. England is a story for fans who appreciate a histfic/mystery/thriller mashup. Not frightening, just tense. We’re figuring out what’s going on and where the danger may lie right along with Ruby as she’s instructed to “lock the nursery door at night.” The writing is rich with vivid details which helps us form pictures in our minds and create gothic vibes.

Characters: Despite the book’s title, the story revolves around Ruby. In the beginning, all the main characters seem a bit unreliable and it’s difficult to know who to trust. Ruby, a likeable character, is brave, determined, and compassionate but she definitely has some secrets. Mrs. England of the title is reclusive and mysterious while Mr. England, although controlling, demonstrates more care, concern, friendliness, and affection…but do we trust him? If you enjoyed Rebecca and Jane Eyre, you might appreciate the gothic elements and tension in this story.

Secrets: We get the sense early in the story that there are many dark secrets. These secrets drive the story as we wonder whom we can trust and where the real danger lies.

Recommended: For me, the difference between 4 and 5 Stars is personal enjoyment, connection, and the wow factor. Even though I loved the histfic element, gothic and thriller are a bit out of my zone of enjoyment. I think others who love those aspects of the story will likely rate this 5 Stars because it’s well written and constructed and contains all the dark atmosphere and tension. I’m definitely recommending Mrs. England for fans of Rebecca and Jane Eyre and for readers who appreciate a tense histfic/mystery/thriller.

***Contains a spoiler***
Content Consideration: domestic abuse

My Rating:  4 Stars

twinkle-twinkle-little-startwinkle-twinkle-little-startwinkle-twinkle-little-startwinkle-twinkle-little-star

Mrs. England by Stacey Halls (cover) Image: a young woman in a long white dress peeks around the corner of an open door

Mrs. England Information Here

Meet the Author, Stacey Halls

Author Stacey HallsStacey Halls was born in Lancashire and worked as a journalist before her debut The Familiars was published in 2019. The Familiars was the bestselling debut hardback novel of that year, won a Betty Trask Award and was shortlisted for the British Book Awards’ Debut Book of the Year. The Foundling, her second novel, was also a Sunday Times top ten bestseller. Mrs England is her third novel.



QOTD:

Is Mrs. England on your TBR or have you read it?



Happy Reading Book Buddies!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“I read because books are a form of transportation, of teaching, and of connection! Books take us to places we’ve never been, they teach us about our world, and they help us to understand human experience.”
~Madeleine Riley, Top Shelf Text



Let’s Get Social!

Thank you for visiting and reading today! I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along (see subscribe or follow option), promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.

Find me at:
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Pinterest



***Blog posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price.

Unless explicitly stated that they are free, all books that I review have been purchased by me or borrowed from the library.

Book Cover and author photos are credited to Amazon or an author’s (or publisher’s) website.

© ReadingLadies.com

15 thoughts on “Mrs. England [Book Review]

  1. I’ve been trying to decide for some time whether to read this book. Like you I’m not a huge fan of gothic elements – if it’s subtly done like in Jane Eyre then that;s great. But if there are too many ghostly appearances or suggestions of that, then I might lose interest

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful review, Carole. I am planning on starting this one tomorrow. I am hit or miss with gothic elements, but if it is well written, I am good, so I will be read for this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: April 2022 Reading Wrap Up | Reading Ladies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.