November Wrap Up

November 29, 2018

November Wrap Up

November Wrap Up

I read eight books this month, and there were some hits and misses. In these Wrap Up posts, it’s important to know that I’m not recommending all these books.

All titles are Amazon affiliate links and my reviews have been linked if available. My November reads are listed below in the order of my Star ratings:

* * * * * * * * * *

Kingdom of the Blind by Louise Penny (#14)
4.5 Stars
Review available on the blog tomorrow.
For fans of cozy mystery/detective stories with good character development.

* * * * * * * * * *

House of Dreams: The Life of L.M. Montgomery by Liz Rosenberg
(biography, my November Nonfiction read)
4 Stars
Full Review Here.
For fans of Anne of Green Gables and Emily of New Moon.

* * * * * * * * * *

The Wartime Sisters by Lynda Cohen Loigman
ARC: Pub Date: 1/22/19
3 Stars
Goodreads Review Here.
For fans of WW11 Historical Fiction.

* * * * * * * * * *

The Colors of All the Cattle (#19 in the #1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series)
by Alexander McCall Smith

3 Stars
Full Review Here.
For long time fans and for readers looking for a gentle, character driven, diverse read.

* * * * * * * * * *

Harry’s Trees by Jon Cohen
3 Stars
Goodreads Review Here.
For fans of contemporary fiction with a bit of magical realism.

* * * * * * * * * *

The Children Act by Ian McEwan
3 Stars
Not Reviewed.
For fans of a character driven story (you may know Ian McEwan for Atonement).

* * * * * * * * * *

The Book of Essie by Meghan MacLean Weir
2 Stars
Goodreads Review Here.
I almost didn’t finish this….but pressed on to see how the plot resolved. (others have loved it, but it wasn’t the right book for me)

* * * * * * * * * *

Bridge of Clay by Marcus Zusak
2 Stars
Goodreads Review Here.
This was close to a DNF for me. I ended up skimming a lot to see if it would get better and to give Zusak the benefit of the doubt. Not recommended. (too much profanity, obscure writing) Please read more reviews before making your reading choice.



Happy Reading Book Buddies!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“I read because books are a form of transportation, of teaching, and of connection! Books take us to places we’ve never been, they teach us about our world, and they help us to understand human experience.”
~Madeleine Riley, Top Shelf Text



Links I Love

If you’ve read My Dear Hamilton by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie and provide a review on social media or Amazon, you can fill out this form to receive FREE bonus content!

Have you seen The Hate U Give movie? Here’s the THUG trailer. 
I’ve read positive reviews with some saying it could be one of the best movies of the year. Of course, the movie is never as good as the book so don’t miss this important read.



Looking Ahead:

Tomorrow I’ll be back with my regular Friday review. This week’s review will be Louise Penny’s new release, Kingdom of the Blind.

Kingdom of the Blind



My Fall TBR

I’ll be updating my Fall TBR list as I complete each read, so check this link often! I have only one more book to read and review after tomorrow’s post, and my library hold of the book is due to come in any day. So I’ll be finished with my Fall TBR soon!



Sharing is Caring

Thank you for reading today! I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along, promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.

Today’s post represents my 100th post! I’m grateful for all the support! Thank you so much!


 Let’s Discuss

What did you read in November?

See any favorites?



***Blogs posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price. This money will be used to offset the costs of running a blog and to sponsor giveaways, etc.

Unless explicitly stated that they are free, all books that I review have been purchased by me or borrowed from the library.

Book Cover and author photo are credited to Amazon or an author’s (or publisher’s) website.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “November Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s