Ladies of the House [Book Review]

February 10, 2021

Ladies of the House by Lauren Edmondson

Ladies of the House by Lauren Edmondson (cover) Image: a close up view of a 2 or 3 story house, a white blossomed tree in the foreground

Genre/Categories: Contemporary Fiction, Chick Lit, Women’s Fiction, Family Drama, Sisters, Mothers/Daughters

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

My Summary:

Thank you, #NetGalley #Harlequin for the complimentary e ARC of #LadiesOfTheHouse upon my request. All opinions are my own.

A modern Sense and Sensibility……

In a loose, contemporary retelling of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility, thirty-four-year-old Daisy finds herself embarrassed by a family scandal. Her Senator father died suddenly in the company of his young mistress and he has also left the family in financial ruin. Daisy, her mother, Cricket, and her sister, Wallis, work frantically to save the family reputation and put their upscale house up for sale while at the same time negotiate the land mines of their personality differences and conflicts and the unrelenting media attention.

My Thoughts:

Sisters: One of the most compelling and interesting themes in Ladies of the House revolves around “complicated sister relationships”….their strengths and weakness, their different personalities, their loyalties, and their romances. True to the classic, Daisy and Wallis are very different: Daisy is more responsible, sensible, conservative, and private, and Wallis is more impetuous, emotional, sentimental, and romantic ….. However, they are loyal to each other and work hard to pick up the pieces of their lives and to salvage what they can from the media scrutiny and financial ruin.

Themes: In addition to the strong sister theme, other themes include flawed men and the effects on the family, social media attention, mother/daughter relationships, surviving scandal, romance tropes, scandal, grief, loss, humiliation, and corruption.

Recommended: From the reviews I’ve read it seems that many Jane Austen fans appreciate this contemporary retelling. Honestly, I can’t remember reading Sense and Sensibility, so I can’t compare. I’m recommending The Ladies of the House for fans of Sense and Sensibility, for readers who might be looking for a story about sister relationships, and for those who are searching for engaging chick lit (or light women’s fiction). I think this might be an interesting book club selection, too.

My Rating:  3 Stars

twinkle-twinkle-little-startwinkle-twinkle-little-startwinkle-twinkle-little-star

Ladies of the House

Ladies of the House Information Here

Meet the Author, Lauren Edmondson

Author Lauren EdmondsonLauren Edmondson began writing angsty short stories at Williams College, where she graduated with a degree in History and English with honors. Later, at Sarah Lawrence College, she earned her M.F.A. and discovered she was much better at crafting novels. When it comes to writing, Lauren is obsessed with the fates of contemporary families and the mysteries of love; other obsessions include travel, the complete oeuvre of Bravo, and comedy podcasts. She lives slightly outside the beltway in Northern Virginia with her husband and incorrigible young daughter; she also teaches English at Northern Virginia Community College.

Ladies of the House is her first novel. Find her on Instagram @MrsLaurenEdmondson.



QOTD:

Is Ladies of the House on your TBR or have you read it?

Do you enjoy retellings?



Happy Reading Book Buddies!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“I read because books are a form of transportation, of teaching, and of connection! Books take us to places we’ve never been, they teach us about our world, and they help us to understand human experience.”
~Madeleine Riley, Top Shelf Text



Let’s Get Social!

Thank you for visiting and reading today! I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along (see subscribe or follow option), promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.

Find me at:
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Pinterest



***Blogs posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price.

Unless explicitly stated that they are free, all books that I review have been purchased by me or borrowed from the library.

Book Cover and author photos are credited to Amazon or an author’s (or publisher’s) website.

© ReadingLadies.com

L

15 thoughts on “Ladies of the House [Book Review]

  1. I’m not sure how I feel about adding modernization to the classic canon, it’s usually that authors should just tell their story without using the retelling and original title to sell it? Sounds like a basically good book though!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: January 2021 Reading Wrap Up | Reading Ladies

  3. Pingback: February 2021 Reading Wrap Up | Reading Ladies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.