Book Ideas For Gift Giving #EveryoneGetsABook #BooksAsGifts

December 7, 2021

Ideas For Books as Gifts

Book Ideas for Gift Giving (Christmas coffee cup and Christmas tree and lights image)

Image Source: Canva

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links

***Most titles selected from newer releases***

When I look at my reading list, most of the books fall into stories that women might enjoy (hence, Reading Ladies); however, my reading occassionally spills over into books that both men and women might enjoy. So please understand that I lean heavily toward reads for women.

For this Book Gift post, I’ve drawn from my RECENT reads (even though they may have been published a few years ago) and from recently published books.

I’m linking up today with That Artsy Reader Girl for Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie……
(more than ten books and ten categories….oops!)

TTT That Arsy Reader Girl Christmas

For Sister, Mom, Grandma, Aunt, or BFF

Three Words For Goodbye by Hazel Gaynor

The Kitchen Front by Jennifer Ryan

The Social Graces by Renee Rosen

The Nature of Fragile Things by Susan Meissner

Our Italian Summer by Jennifer Probst

Yours Cheerfully by A.J. Pearce

Love and Lavender by Josi S. Kilpack

For Husband, Brother, Dad, Granddad, or Uncle

Project Hail Mary (the audio version!) by Andy Weir,
performed by Ray Porter (same author as The Martain)

The Day the World Came to Town by Jim Defede
(published in 2011 but read this year on the 20th anniversary of 9-11)

This Tender Land by Willian Kent Kreuger

The Answer Is….: Reflections on My Life by Alex Trebik

For Middle Grade

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga (female main character & a male friend)

Ghost by Jason Reynolds (male main character but the team has girls and boys) ….this is the first book in a Track series
(published in 2016 but read this year)

Isaiah Dunn is My Hero by Kelly J. Baptist (male main character)

The Next Great Jane by K.L. Going (female main character & male friend)

***For ALL the Middle Grade book lists visit Afoma @ Reading Middle Grade.

For Young Adult ( 13-16)

All I Want For Christmas is the Girl Next Door by Chelsea Bobulski (male main character and female friend; contemporary teen romance)

For Mature Young Adult

The Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley (female main character)

Love is a Revolution by Renee Watson (female main character)

Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir–the audio version! (science fiction; male main character…some language)

For Fans of Design

Joyful by Ingrid Fetell Lee

For Fans of Historical Fiction

(all of these are candidates for favs of the year)

Love and Lavender by Josi S. Kilpack

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn

The Last Bookshop in London by Madeline Martin

Radar Girls by Sara Ackerman

Sparks Like Stars by Nadia Hashimi

Surviving Savannah by Patti Callahan

The Invisible Woman by Erika Robuck

Sunflower Sisters by Martha Hall Kelly

Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell

The Last Train to London by Meg Waite Clayton

For Fans of Science Fiction

Project Hail Mary (the audio version!) by Any Weir and performed by Ray Porter
(this will be on my favs of the year list)

For Fans of Memoir

Dolly Parton, Songeller: My Life in Lyrics by Dolly Parton

The Choice by Dr. Edith Eva Eger
(published in 2017 but read this year)

For Fans of Christian Fiction

The Unlikely Yarn of the Dragon Lady by Sharon J. Mondragon

For Fans of Complex and Ambitious Stories (by a prize winning author)

Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr

For Fans of Nonfiction

The Day the World Came to Town by Jim Defede (9-11 in Gander, Newfoundland)
(published in 2011 but read this year for the 20th anniversary of 9-11)….follow up with the musical, Come From Away (on Broadway and streaming on Apple TV +)

For Fans of Books About Books

The Last Bookshop in London by Madeline Martin

The Reading List by Sara Nisha Adams (my current read)

For Fans of Quirky Reads

The Invisible Husband of Frick Island by Colleen Oakley

For Fans of Complicated Family Drama

The Girl With the Louding Voice by Abi Daré

Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi

For Fans of Thoughtful Contemporary Fiction

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman


a stack of three hardback books tied with silver and gold ribbon

More Ideas:

Books as Gifts 2020
Books as Gifts 2019


QOTD:

What books are on your gift giving list?

Please let me know if you found something useful on this list for gift giving!



Happy Reading Book Buddies!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“I read because books are a form of transportation, of teaching, and of connection! Books take us to places we’ve never been, they teach us about our world, and they help us to understand human experience.”
~Madeleine Riley, Top Shelf Text



Let’s Get Social!

Thank you for visiting and reading today! I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along (see subscribe or follow option), promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.

Find me at:
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Pinterest



***Blog posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price.

Unless explicitly stated that they are free, all books that I review have been purchased by me or borrowed from the library.

Book Cover and author photos are credited to Amazon or an author’s (or publisher’s) website.

© http://www.ReadingLadies.com

47 thoughts on “Book Ideas For Gift Giving #EveryoneGetsABook #BooksAsGifts

  1. Some great ideas. Delighted to see Louding Voice on here since it’s one of my favourites for 2021. I’ve bought it for my niece and one if my friends . Everyone in our family will be getting books this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You probably won’t believe this but I am the only person in my family who enjoys reading! It’s a miracle I became a verocius reader when I could read chapter books in elementary school. Growing up, my parents indulged my reading passion by buying the children’s classics and taking me to the library. However, I can’t recall a singe instance when I saw them reading something other than a magazine! My brother and sister aren’t readers, and neither are their children.

    My husband and son aren’t readers either (and trust me, I really tried with my son). They prefer listening to sports podcasts. At least they respect my love for reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Winter 2021 TBR #TopTenTuesday | Reading Ladies

  4. Pingback: December 2021 Reading Wrap Up | Reading Ladies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.