More Books Like These Please! #TopTenTuesday #LetsDiscuss2021

June 8, 2021

More Books Like These 5 Star Reads Please!

More Books Like These Please (a tall stack of hardback books)

Image Source: Canva

Which books or tropes do you wish there were more of?
Do we share any favorites?
Which book would top your own list?

Top Ten Tuesday (meme)

2021 discussion challenge graphic (a blue bird and red fox and wall clock and stack of books graphic)

I’m linking up today with That Artsy Reader Girl for Top Ten Tuesday: More Books Like These. and the 2021 Discussion Challenge hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight.

 

For this post, I had to go with my first 10 or I could be here listing books forever! The following titles are representative of books that give me book hangovers and I think about for years to come! All of them are 5 Star reads! (in no particular order) Which book of yours would top your own list?



More like these please:



Smart, thoughtful, beautifully crafted, and complex contemporary fiction…

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman (cover) Image: a man and woman stand against a railing with backs to the camera


Poignant, relatable, and memorable complicated family drama

A Place For Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza

A Place For Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza (cover)


Unputdownable Histfic With Compelling Issues and Memorable Characters

Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd

invention of wings


Honoring brave girls around the world

The Girl With the Louding Voice by Abi Daré

The Girl With the Louding Voice by Abi Dare (cover)


Complicated Marriages and Friendships

Dearly Beloved by Cara Wall

Dearly Beloved by Cara Wall (cover)


Compelling and Informational Histfic

The Bookwoman of Troublesome Creek by Michelle Richardson

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson (cover)


Satisfying and Memorable Endings

We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter

We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter (cover)


Well-researched and brilliantly written WW11 Histfic

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn

a woman dressed in a rose dress stands with her back to the camera overlooking a balcony and a gold wall


Histfic Genre Mashup

The Nature of Fragile Things by Susan Meissner

(histfic with generous servings of mystery, thriller, and friendship)

The Nature of Fragile Things by Susan Meissner (cover) Image: blue-toned picture of a woman and young girl holding hands and walking down railroad tracks with backs to camerai


Page-turning escapist fiction

Castle of Water by Duane Hucklebridge

Castle of Water by Dane Huckelbridge (cover)



QOTD:

Have you read any of my “more like these” reads?

How about you? What book would you add to your own list?



Happy Reading Book Buddies!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“I read because books are a form of transportation, of teaching, and of connection! Books take us to places we’ve never been, they teach us about our world, and they help us to understand human experience.”
~Madeleine Riley, Top Shelf Text



Let’s Get Social!

Thank you for visiting and reading today! I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along (see subscribe or follow option), promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.

Find me at:
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Pinterest



***Blogs posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price.

Unless explicitly stated that they are free, all books that I review have been purchased by me or borrowed from the library.

Book Cover and author photos are credited to Amazon or an author’s (or publisher’s) website.

© ReadingLadies.com

27 thoughts on “More Books Like These Please! #TopTenTuesday #LetsDiscuss2021

  1. Quite a few of these are on my bookshelf waiting to be read! I am really looking forward to The Rose Code, We Were the Lucky Ones and The Girl with the Louding Voice! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “The Invention of Wings” is a great book. It reminded me a of Barbara Kingsolver whom I also love. As I’m sure do you.

    I read “A Man Called Ove” by Fredrick Backman. It was an alright read but I didn’t want to read more by him.

    Definitely a great list, some good inspiration there.

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been hearing very good things about The Nature of Fragile Things. Your description (“histfic with generous servings of mystery, thriller, and friendship”) makes it sound even better!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful list Carol. I had a hard time imagining this post, so didn’t participate this week, but perhaps I should have. I have had the audible version of A Place for Us for quite awhile, I need to listen to it. I also have The Girl with Louding Voice. Time to just slot them both in.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.