Bookish Gifts for Mom

May 4, 2018
(“May the 4th be with you!”)

mothers-day

Bookish Gift Ideas For Mom

If you’re fortunate to have your mom physically present with you this year and are looking for a bookish gift for Mother’s Day (or as a treat for your hard-working self!), check out my book and book related recs! The following titles represent some of my favorite reads (in addition to mostly recent releases, the list includes a few older titles as well). I’ve linked to my reviews as available….otherwise, I’ve provided Amazon links. If you have questions about any of the books, please ask in the comments and I’d be delighted to give you further information or perspective. Without knowing the person for whom you’re buying, the following recs are titles that are generally popular with lots of readers and the majority are written by women authors.
(I have avoided books that require trigger warnings)

*Linking up with Words on Wednesday. If you’ve clicked over from there, Welcome!

candle for mom



Light Histfic Reads: (easy reading, engaging, minimal or no violence)

my dear hamilton 2My Dear Hamilton by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie
(biographical histfic, U. S. history)

America's First Daughter

America’s First Daughter by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie
(biographical histfic, U.S. History)

last christmas in paris

Last Christmas in Paris by Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb
(epistolary format, WW1 time period)

As Bright as Heaven

As Bright As Heaven by Susan Meissner
(Spanish flu, mother/daughters)

Chilbury

Chilbury Ladies’ Choir by Jennifer Ryan
(WW11)

Gilded Years

The Gilded Years by Karin Tanabe
(biographical, first African-American woman to attend Vassar passing as white)

Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers

Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers by Sara Ackerman
(WW11 time period, Hawaii)

The Other Alcott

The Other Alcott by Elise Hooper
(for fans of Little Women)

Guernsey

Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer
(epistolary format, post WW11)

News of the World

News of the World by Paulette Jiles
(post civil war, southwest U.S.)



Multi-generational Family Saga:

Eden

Eden by Jeanne Blasberg



Heavier Histfic (more intense  content, survival themes)

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
(WW11)

From Sand and Ash

From Sand and Ash by Amy Harmon
(WW11)

we were the lucky ones

We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter
(WW11)

Invention of Wings

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
(slavery, abolition)

Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
(WW11)

The Baker's Secret

The Baker’s Secret by Stephen P. Kiernan
(WW11)

Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See
(China, adoption)

Pearl That Broke its Shell

The Pearl That Broke Its Shell by Nadia Hashimi
(Afghanistan, women’s rights)

Homegoing

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
(slavery, multigenerational)



Romantic

How to find love in a bookstore

How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

(“Last Christmas in Paris” also fits in this category)



Unique and Interesting Characters

Eleanor Oliphant

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

man called ove

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

one in a million boy

The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

saving cecee honeycutt

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman



Memoir

Wait Till Next Year

Wait Till Next Year by Doris Kearns Goodwin
(baseball and so much more)

talking as fast as i can

Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham
(humor, for fans of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood)



True Crime

Killers of the Flower Moon

Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann
(Crimes against Native American people)



Old Favorites

the hiding place

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom
(WW11)

gift from the sea

Gift From the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh
(inspirational)



Other Gift Ideas:

Give in Honor of Mom

Book Darts  $12

Carrot Top Paper Literary Artwork

The Novel Endeavor: Gift Giving Round Up for Book Lovers

Modern Mrs Darcy: Compulsively Readable Literary Fiction

GraceLaced Inspirational Watercolor Artwork

GraceLaced Inspirational Book at Hobby Lobby $14.99

Kindle Paperwhite E-Reader



Happy Reading & Gift Giving, Bookworms!

“Ah, how good it is to be among people who are reading.”
~Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love the world of words, where life and literature connect.”
~Denise J Hughes

“Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad ones.”
~Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society



Sharing is Caring

I’d be honored and thrilled if you choose to enjoy and follow along, promote, and/or share my blog. Every share helps us grow.



Let’s Discuss!

What are your favorite gifts for Mom?

What are you reading this week?



***Blogs posts may contain affiliate links. This means that at no extra cost to you, I can earn a small percentage of your purchase price. This money will be used to offset the costs of running a blog and to sponsor giveaways, etc.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Bookish Gifts for Mom

  1. Wow Carol!! So so many great titles. Your posts are so chock full of content. I’m taking down titles to read… Have already loved a few of the titles you mentioned. Right now I’m reading through Kelly Corrigan’s books. short memoir style stories. the best is The Middle Place, describing the time she went through cancer at the same time as her beloved Dad was diagnosed with cancer. Lots of wit and warmth. She’s not a believer and you want that for her as you read through. Thanks for the great book ideas Carol! xox

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A Rec For You, Mom! | Reading Ladies

  3. Pingback: Summer Reading Season | Reading Ladies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s